Posted by: bcbarano | March 22, 2008

Cinnamon Raisin Bread

So I’ve wanted to experiment with baking bread other than just white bread. My white bread is good, but I can really start getting cost effective by making “specialty” bread. One of my favorites from my childhood is cinnamon raisin bread so I thought that would be a good place to start. I used the regular bread recipe (3.25 cups flour, 1 tsp sugar, 1 package highly active yeast) and added 1/4 cup regular sugar, ~1/3 cup cinnamon and a bunch of raisins after I had mixed the basic ingredients together. I let it rise in a bowl and was worried because it wasn’t rising like I wanted. I thought I might have saturated the dough with sugar and the yeast wasn’t reacting correctly. After punching it down, letting it rise in the bread pan and bake it (for ~ 35 min) it turned out great!! Susan suggested (and I agree) that I should use a different kind of sugar. It’s not that the bread tastes bad, but that it might be better by using something like brown sugar or even molasses. So I’ll try that next time. Anyway, here is what it looks like:

img_4511.jpg

P.S. Next on my list is a Garlic-Parmesan Bread as soon as I can get the recipe from my mom.

Responses

  1. My favorite non-sugar these days is Raw Agave syrup (nectar if you will). See if you can find it in the organic food store, you can use about half a unit to one unit sugar – if it needs to be really sweet use three quarters. My grandmother has Type 2 Diabetes and her doctor recommended this as it apparently doesn’t get your blood sugar all crazy like regular white sugar.

    This bread sounds good, do you think I could make it without yeast?


Leave a Reply

Categories

