Posted by: susanbarano | March 18, 2008

Susan’s First Post

Hi, everyone! Susan here. Ben said I have to write a post about the dinner I made today, so here I am. And here it is:

pict0132.jpg

This is called Vegetable-Barley Medley, and it is from our slow-cooker recipe book. I love that thing! This recipe was so easy and so filling. All you have to do is put:

1 15-oz can black beans, rinsed and drained (or 2 cups cooked)

1 14-oz can vegetable broth

1 10-oz package frozen whole kernel corn

1 large onion, chopped

1/2 cup regular barley

1 medium green sweet pepper, chopped

1 medium carrot, thinly sliced

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 Tbsp snipped fresh parsley

1 tsp dried basil or oregano

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

in a slow cooker, cover, and cook on low heat for 7-8 or high heat for 3 1/2-4 hours, then add:

1 medium zucchini, thinly sliced

2 medium tomatoes, coarsely chopped

1 Tbsp lemon juice

and cook on high-heat setting 30 minutes more.

THE END!

Now, having said that, let me tell you how I did things a little differently. First, I used a little extra barley, more like 3/4 of a cup, because that’s how much I had. Then, I used baby carrots and just cut them into thirds. Also, I didn’t use fresh parsley, because it wasn’t available. I used dried and it turned out just fine, although I’m sure it would have been different, and maybe better, with fresh. I left out the zucchini also, because I am not a fan of zucchini, and because we had a recent bad experience with zucchini in shepherd’s pie. Oh, and I used a can of tomatoes, because it was one of those days where I used up all my free time and free hands chopping the rest of the vegetables.

So…it was pretty good! Ben put cheese on his, but I resisted the urge to do the same. It was somewhat bland, and I wondered if that had to do with the parsley issue, but I added a little extra salt and pepper and it was great, nice and creamy from the barley without actually being creamy. And it was nice to have a slow-cooker meal that was more of a grain dish and less like a stew.

All in all, Ben and I both liked it (shocking!), and we’ll probably have it again soon.

James demands it.

pict0133.jpg

Leave a Reply

Categories

