Posted by: bcbarano | March 14, 2008

Cranberry Muffins

So my office-mates have been bugging me to “bake something for them”. So for our group meeting Friday I made some cranberry muffins. They turned out pretty good since I goofed on the recipe. Here is a picture:img_4456.jpg

Recipe:

1.5 Cups of organic all purpose flour, 0.5 of a cup corn meal, 1/4 Cup sugar, 3 teaspoons baking powder, 0.5 of a cup cooked oatmeal, 1 cup organic milk, 3 tablespoons melted butter.

Preheat oven to 400 F. Combine dry ingredients in a bowl and wet ingredients in another bowl. I didn’t check before I started cooking if we had all the ingredients, so I had to use the oatmeal instead of 1 egg. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and pour the wet into the center. Fold in as opposed to mixing together until all of the dry ingredients are “wetted”. The batter should be lumpy. At this point I added random amounts of cinnamon and lemon zest with about 1 – 1.5 cups of dried cranberries. Put in greased muffin tin and bake for about 25 minutes.

I served them with some home-made honey butter.

Responses

  1. honey butter is one of those american things I didn’t get to try… what exactly is honey butter?

  2. Honey butter is simply honey mixed with butter. It give a little extra sweetness and as such goes great with things like muffins and yeast rolls.


Leave a Reply

Categories

